Go Back   The Beauty Bottle > The Beauty Bottle Beauty Discussion Board > Hand, Foot & Nail Care
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old June 15th, 2006, 09:02 AM   #1
severina
Untouched Beauty

Default Can you help me create a recipe for my HG foot spray?

I absolutely love The Body Shop's Refreshing Foot Spray. I'm a school teacher by profession and a hobyist-dancer, so my feet take a lot of abuse. I have for years kept a bottle of this foot spray in my desk at work, my dance bag, and near the couch where DH & I relax in the evening. It's an awesome quick fix that makes my feet feel less tired (& less, er....odiferous!).

So, why the search for alternative? Well, I'm trying to transition to more natural products. I'm also pretty unhappy about The Body Shop being purchased by L'Oreal. Also, I think I might be able to mix up a good copy-cat for less than I pay for the real thing. Plus, beauty-chemistry is fun!

Here's an ingredient list:

Alchol Denat., Water, Rosemary (Rosmarinus Officinalus) Oil, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Isopropyl Myristate, Tea Tree (Melaleuca Alternifolia) Leaf Oil, Menthol, Calendula Officinalis Extract, Arnica Montana Extract, Blue 1.

I'm thinking I could mix up something similar using either isopropyl alcohol (or perhaps witch hazel?) and a mix of rosemary & tea tree essentail oils. I'm not sure about calendula -- is that chamomile?

Any suggestions? Does anyone have a product similar to this that you make? I'm happy to experiment and update later, but wanted to tap the wisdom of the boards first.

Severina
severina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2006, 09:08 AM   #2
eiyela
Captivating Beauty

Looking up ingredients here... I'll update the post when I'm done. ETA: Updated! I think I got all the ingredients (except water, obviously).

Alcohol denat.

The article was pretty long... Basically it's alcohol that has been rendered undrinkable.

Rosemary (Rosmarinus Officinalus) Oil